Home Clubs County Squads Coaching Links
Council Child Protection Courts Available Contact Us

Stowmarket Badminton Club is a friendly and thriving club which plays its club nights and matches at Mid Suffolk Leisure Centre in Stowmarket. The adult section runs ten teams in the Bury & District Badminton League (BDBL) and Ipswich and District Badminton League (IDBL) as well as running one of the biggest junior sections in Suffolk.

Anyone interested in playing competitive badminton in the Mid Suffolk area can get in touch with the club via our club web page (click button below). We also run an adult summer club from the beginning of May to the end of August using feather shuttles, for more information contact Mary Hughes via our website. For information on a more casual "pay and play" option at MSLC contact Mary via our website.

Our adult teams have had a mixed season this year with notable successes in the IDBL for two of the men's teams with promotion for the Men's B into Division 2 and Men’s C into Division 6. The ladies’ team finished second in Division 1 with the mixed teams finishing well placed in Divisions 1 and 2 respectively. All of the teams in the BDBL have managed to finish in the top half of their respective leagues. This season has seen notable additions to all of our teams with juniors from our own junior section which is always a bonus for the club.

Our Juniors held their 11th Annual Tournament at Mid Suffolk Leisure Centre on Sunday 2nd April 2017. 76 junior players entered the pairs event, playing a total of 86 games in the various age groups. Players from Stowmarket, YMCA, Abbeygate and Bosmere badminton clubs took part in the tournament with the honours spread around the clubs.

Under 11 doubles winners - Leighton Gale and Isaac Chase from Abbeygate;

runners-up - Ella Shirley and Eva Boggis from Abbeygate.

Under 13 boy’s doubles winners - Sam Rahmanpour and Matthew Wilson from YMCA

runners-up - James Wing and Joel Redhead from Stowmarket

Under 13 girl’s doubles winners - Imogen Cobbold and Eleanor Watts from Bosmere

Under 15 boy’s doubles winners - Lucas Cambell-Robson and Alex Laker from YMCA

runners-up - Ben Aldous and Joseph Turner from Stowmarket

Under 15 girl’s doubles winners - Evie Prager and Emily King from Stowmarket

runners-up - Alice Beamish and Rebecca Hendry from Stowmarket

Under 17 boy’s doubles winners - Theo Broom and Matthew Cook from YMCA

runners-up - Chris Chapelle and Finlay Gamble from Stowmarket

Under 17 girl’s doubles winners - Anna Keeble and Catherine Westland from YMCA

runners-up - Ellie Davis and Frankie Dean from Stowmarket

Saturday 1st April also saw the end of season in-house tournament. All 40 of the juniors took part in the fun tournament in teams of three, earning medals for the best team before all the juniors went home with an Easter egg for their efforts. Winners on the day for the first group were Georgina Margetson, William Black and Leo Hunt with Thomas Alder, Findlay Gamble and Adam Turner winning the older age group. A big thank-you to all the coaches and helpers who have volunteered their time throughout the year to keep the junior section going. Long may it last.

The junior section has had several notable successes this season as well within the county, with medals for Ben Bennett-Day and Craig Newcombe in the IDBL Boy’s Under-18 Tournament as well as trophies for Robert Wing and Oliver Pearmain n the IDBL Boy’s Under-15 Tournament.

Success also came in the Abbeygate Junior Tournament held in 17th January where the Stowmarket team came away with the overall title for the second year running. Thanks to all the players and helpers on the day.

The 2016/17 season has proven to be another successful season for Stowmarket Badminton Club at all levels, so for all those new to the area, retired, new to the sport or former players out there, feel free to contact us to ignite your enthusiasm for the game.

Andy Newcombe

Chairman, Stowmarket Badminton Club

Stowmarket Badminton Club News

April 2017

Stowmarket Junior Tournament 2016
Club Web Page

Robert Wing &

Oliver Pearmain

Georgina Margetson, William Black & Leo Hunt

Ben Bennett-Day &

Craig Newcombe

Thomas Alder, Findlay Gamble & Adam Turner